Wen-Sinn Yang
Violoncello

David Popper (1843-1913): Cello Concertos No. 1-3

Tradition & Future – David Popper’s Cello Concertos

Cellists form a family. Among musicians it is true that a common elective affinity carries greater weight than a mere shared gene pool. And so in the preface to Steven De’ak’s standard David Popper biography from 1980, the cello legend János Starker hardly seems to be surprised to find himself on a certain cellist family tree that once had been published in The Strad music magazine. Through Adolf Schiffer, his teacher at the Franz Liszt Music Academy in Budapest, Starker, a United States citizen of Hungarian birth, could stake a claim to grandson-pupil status in relation to the Prague native Popper. According to his own testimony, while receiving instruction he usually sat under a portrait of Popper. Fortunately, educational relations among musicians have always transcended national, religious, and even continental borders. Artists’ family trees continue to function even today not only as an international network; it is also true that the knowledgeable listener will always be able to recognize in the pupil the maxims of the teacher.

Let us turn to our point of departure, to one of the main branches on the tree next to Bernhard Romberg (1767–1841) and Adrien-François Servais (1807–66) – to David Popper (1843–1913). When the twenty-one-year-old Popper skyrocketed to fame, Hans von Bülow praised his "magnificent tone, great technique." Popper’s young mastery in what was cello playing that was just as powerful as it was sonorous was based on the tradition of the "Hamburg school" transmitted by his teacher Julius Goltermann (1823–76). Drawing on this solid foundation, Popper continued to work on the perfection of his technique.

Portait: David Popper
David Popper (1843-1913)

It is hard to believe that Popper, given the splendid virtuosity and agogics required of the cello soloist in his own compositions, is known as a performer who did not use an endpin on the lower end of his instrument. His models for the finishing touches of his recital were the violinists Charles-Auguste de Bériot (1802–70) and Henri Vieuxtemps (1820–81). It was his aim to transfer the precision and charm of the Franco-Belgian violin school to his instrument.

Popper was born in Prague’s Josefov, the old Jewish quarter, on 7 December 1843 and studied with Goltermann at the conservatory in the city of his birth. His father Angelus Popper served as a synagogue cantor. The young Popper’s musical talent must have been stupendous. Accordingly, his career immediately took him to the top. Already in 1861, when he was near to concluding his studies, he concertized with the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig. In 1863 the twenty-year-old became a member of the ensemble of the Princes of Hohenzollern-Hechingen in Löwenberg, Silesia.

The cello concerto no. 1 op. 8

Popper’s Vienna debut was followed a few years later – on Hans von Bülow’s recommendation – by an engagement as the solo cellist of the Vienna Court Opera beginning in 1868. It was during this time that Popper also wrote his Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra No. 1 op. 8. This is astonishing indeed; after all, in addition to his "opera drudgery" in the orchestra pit, Popper continued to journey throughout Europe as a traveling virtuoso, living more or less in trains and hotels, and was also still a member of the Hellmesberger Quartet.

The ambivalent effect produced by the Cello Concerto No. 1 may possibly find its explanation in the restless circumstances of the composer’s life. On the one hand, it involves academic music at its best – finely polished, technically extremely demanding, and aesthetically full of deeply felt romanticism meeting a high Central European cultural standard. On the other hand, many ideas come across as much too flat and tame.

The solo phrases such as those in the secondary theme of the first movement have not turned out quite right for Popper and are very longwinded, and those in the second movement are quite iterative. Might it have occurred to him, as one of the greatest virtuosos of his time, while he was premiering his first concerto on the stage, that he himself was operating at the limits of his technical capabilities? Or is what we have here simply a "typical case of youthful light-headedness" – thus the view of the interpreter on the present recording, Wen-Sinn Yang.

When Popper’s solo appearances began to gain the upper hand, he decided to give up his permanent post at the Vienna Court Opera in 1873. During the meantime he had made a great many important artistic contacts: for example, with Anton Bruckner, to whose third symphony he had still been able to lend his strong support with the Vienna Philharmonic, with Johannes Brahms, with whom he later also performed together, and with Franz Liszt. His relationship with Richard Wagner, oscillating between mutual respect and admiration, would remain problematic: Popper had committed the "unpardonable error" of having favorable things to say about Brahms to the Bayreuth master!

The cello concerto no. 2 op. 24

Together with his first wife, the Liszt pupil Sophie Menter, as his piano accompanist, David Popper again went on a grand concert tour. The experience garnered by the traveling cello virtuoso is heard in the more mature Cello Concerto in E minor No. 2 op. 24 of 1880 as well as in the "masterstroke" formed by the one-movement Cello Concerto No. 3 in G major op. 59 of 1888. What is involved is again the task of mastering technical difficulties on the highest level!

The Concerto No. 2 has power as well as plenty of drive. Here we glimpse Popper operating on the highest creative level of his epoch. Here he succeeded in producing an early masterpiece. A genuinely brilliant success! His temperament and romantic feeling are particularly beautifully expressed in this work – especially when one bears in mind the absolutely operatic dramatic quality of the first movement. The "Andante maestoso" second movement is marked by great emotional depth. On this recording it was registered on the silver disc practically in a single take at the end of the first recording day! The last movement is marvelous: a wonderful blend of virtuosity, pomp, and stylistic intuition. The euphoria of the second theme continues to echo in the ear for a long time.

The cello concerto no. 3 op. 59

The Concerto No. 3 is thought to have been composed for a private event. Popper’s dedication of it to "His Excellency, the Imperial Russian Councilor von Ogarev," points to such a situation. In addition, the ensemble size of the orchestra is somewhat smaller than it is in the Concerto No. 2. Nevertheless, the compact swing, what is essential to the message, is moving.

Welcome melodies pervade the work. One gladly gets over the fact that Popper’s genuine musical imagination cannot completely unfold within the prescribed brevity.

Popper's late years

It was not until 1896 that David Popper settled down in Budapest and established ties as a professor to the conservatory founded by Franz Liszt. He swiftly advanced to the status of one of Europe’s most sought-after teachers. However, this did not keep him from pursuing an active concert career. Along with his experience as an orchestra musician and a soloist, he now increasingly occupied himself with work as a chamber musician. With Jenö Hubay, his violinist colleague at the academy, he founded the Hubay-Popper Quartet – which for thirty years was one of the leading quartet formations worldwide with guest musicians such as Brahms, Dohnányi, Paderewski, Backhaus, and Godowsky.

On the basis of his knowledge in the field of chamber music and the increasingly higher demands that contemporary solo concertos, sonatas, and virtuoso pieces brought with them, Popper may have moved toward the decision to develop new étude material for his instrument. At the beginning of the twentieth century he therefore wrote the Hohe Schule des Violoncellspiels (High School of Violin Playing) in four volumes, each with ten études – which even today continues to rank as a standard work in the instructional literature.

The circumstances of David Popper’s death display the features of a sensational social drama. His appointment to the post of a Hungarian Hofrat was celebrated in Baden, near Vienna, in a circle including family members and friends. The weak spell suffered by the honoree was wrongly interpreted by those in attendance – not as a preliminary symptom of a fatal heart attack but merely as a sign of "joyful excitement." Apparently, despite his clearly advanced age, nobody believed that the tireless musician and teacher might be suffering from total exhaustion. As far as his later family history is concerned, it is terrible that Popper’s second wife Olga, like many other members of his family, fell victim to the Holocaust and was murdered in the gas chamber of a death camp.

Popper’s legacy lived on through his many pupils, who became prominent teachers in their own right. A great part of his oeuvre continues to await rediscovery. It is sensational, just to think what other wonderful things were offered to the public during the 1880s in addition to the main works of Bruckner (b. 1824), Brahms (b. 1833), Tchaikovsky (b. 1840), and Dvórak (b. 1841). David Popper (b. 1843) may very much be named as the youngest member of this band of composers.

Richard Eckstein

Translated by Susan Marie Praeder

Enjoy Popper's Cello Concertos on:

  • Logo: iTunes
  • Logo: Amazon MP3
  • Logo: Amazon CD
  • Logo: JPC Partner

Wen-Sinn Yang
Violoncello

David Popper (1843-1913): Cellokonzerte Nr.1-3

Tradition & Zukunft – David Poppers Cellokonzerte

Cellisten sind Familienmenschen. Unter Musikern wiegt freilich die geistige Wahlverwandtschaft schwerer als ein bloßer gemeinsamer Genpool. Und so zeigt sich Cellolegende János Starker im Vorwort von Steven De’aks Standardbiografie David Poppers aus dem Jahr 1980 kaum darüber beeindruckt, sich selbst auf einem Cellisten-Stammbaum zu erblicken, der einst im Fachmagazin „The Strad“ veröffentlicht worden war. Durch Adolf Schiffer, seinen Lehrer an der Franz-Liszt-Musikakademie in Budapest, konnte Starker als US-Amerikaner ungarischer Herkunft den Status eines Enkelschülers des gebürtigen Pragers Popper in Anspruch nehmen. Nach eigener Aussage soll er bei seinem Unterricht meist unter einem Popper-Porträt gesessen sein. Zum Glück haben sich pädagogische Beziehungen unter Musikern schon immer über nationale, religiöse und sogar kontinentale Grenzen hinweggesetzt. Künstler-Stammbäume fungieren bis heute nicht nur als internationales Netzwerk, sondern der kundige Hörer wird im Schüler stets auch die Maximen des Lehrers wiedererkennen können.

Wenden wir uns dem Ausgangspunkt, einem der Hauptäste des Baumes neben Bernhard Romberg (1767–1841) und Adrien-François Servais (1807–1866), zu: David Popper (1843–1913). Mit der Charakterisierung „famoser Ton, große Technik“ rühmte Hans von Bülow den 21-jährigen Senkrechtstarter. Dessen junge Meisterschaft im ebenso kraftvollen wie klangreichen Cellospiel basierte auf der durch seinen Lehrer Julius Goltermann (1823–1876) vermittelten Überlieferung der „Hamburger Schule“. Auf dieser soliden Grundlage arbeitete Popper weiter an der Vervollkommnung seiner Technik.

Portait: David Popper
David Popper (1843-1913)

Kaum zu glauben, dass er bei aller glänzenden Virtuosität und Agogik, die in seinen eigenen Kompositionen dem Cellosolisten abverlangt werden, selbst keinen Stachel am unteren Ende des Instruments benutzt haben soll. Für den Feinschliff seines Vortrags nahm er sich die Geiger Charles-Auguste de Bériot (1802–1870) und Henri Vieuxtemps (1820–1881) zum Vorbild. Exaktheit und Anmut der franco-belgischen Violinschule versuchte er, auf sein Instrument zu übertragen.

Studiert hatte der am 7. Dezember 1843 in der Prager Josefstadt, dem alten jüdischen Viertel, geborene Popper bei Goltermann am Konservatorium seiner Heimatstadt. Sein Vater Angelus Popper amtierte als Synagogen-Kantor. Die musikalische Begabung des Jungen muss stupend gewesen sein. Entsprechend steil war seine Laufbahn. Bereits 1861, kurz nah seinem Abschluss, konzertierte er mit dem Leipziger Gewandhausorchester. 1863 wird der 20-Jährige Mitglied der fürstlich Hohenzollern-Hechingen’schen Kapelle im schlesischen Löwenberg.

Das Cellokonzert Nr. 1 op. 8

Dem Wiener Debüt wenige Jahre später folgte – auf Empfehlung Hans von Bülows – ab 1868 ein Engagement als Solocellist der Wiener Hofoper. In dieser Zeit entstand auch Poppers 1. Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester op. 8. Eigentlich erstaunlich, denn Popper war neben dem „Opern-Frondienst“ im Orchestergraben weiterhin als reisender Virtuose in ganz Europa unterwegs, lebte mehr oder weniger in Zügen und Hotels und war zudem noch Mitglied im Hellmesberger-Quartett.

Möglicherweise lässt sich die ambivalente Wirkung des 1. Cellokonzerts durch die unruhigen Lebensumstände des Komponisten erklären. Einerseits handelt es sich um akademische Musik at its best – ausgefeilt, technisch überaus anspruchsvoll, ästhetisch voll inniger Romantik mit hohem mitteleuropäischem Kulturanspruch –, andererseits kommen manche Ideen allzu brav daher.

Die Solophrasen wie beim Seitenthema des 1. Satzes sind Popper etwas verquer und sehr langatmig geraten oder wie im 2. Satz recht iterativ. Ob ihm – als einem der größten Virtuosen seiner Zeit – bei der Uraufführung des 1. Konzerts auf dem Podium dämmerte, dass selbst er an den Grenzen seiner technischen Fähigkeiten agierte? Oder es handelt sich schlicht um einen „typischen Fall von jugendlichem Leichtsinn“ – so die Ansicht des Interpreten in der vorliegenden Aufnahme, Wen-Sinn Yang.

Als Poppers solistische Auftritte begannen, überhandzunehmen, entschloss er sich 1873, auf die feste Stelle an der Hofoper in Wien zu verzichten. Wichtige Künstler-Kontakte hatte er in der Zwischenzeit reichlich geknüpft: etwa zu Anton Bruckner, für dessen 3. Sinfonie er sich bei den Wiener Philharmonikern noch stark machen konnte, zu Johannes Brahms, mit dem er später auch gemeinsam musizierte, und zu Franz Liszt. Problematisch sollte das zwischen gegenseitigem Respekt und Bewunderung oszillierende Verhältnis zu Richard Wagner bleiben: Popper hatte den „unverzeihlichen Fehler“ begangen, sich gegenüber dem Bayreuther Meister wohlwollend über Brahms zu äußern …

Das Cellokonzert Nr. 2 op. 24

Gemeinsam mit seiner ersten Frau, der Liszt-Schülerin Sophie Menter, als Klavierbegleiterin ging David Popper erneut auf große Konzerttournee. Die gemachten Erfahrungen des reisenden Cellovirtuosen hört man dem reiferen, 2. Cellokonzert in e-Moll op. 24 von 1880 ebenso an wie dem „Wurf“ des einsätzigen 3. Cellokonzerts in G-Dur op. 59 von 1888. Wieder gilt es, technische Schwierigkeiten auf höchstem Niveau zu meistern!

Das 2. Konzert hat nicht nur Kraft, sondern auch einen erheblichen Drive. Popper zeigt sich auf der geistigen Höhe seiner Epoche. Ihm ist hier ein frühes Meisterwerk geglückt. Eine wirklich runde Sache! Sein Temperament und romantisches Feeling kommen in diesem Werk besonders schön zur Geltung – insbesondere wenn man an die geradezu opernhafte Dramatik des 1. Satzes denkt. Der 2. Satz „Andante maestoso“ ist von großer emotionaler Tiefe geprägt. In dieser Einspielung wurde er am Ende des ersten Aufnahmetags fast in einem einzigen Take auf Silberscheibe gebannt! Toll der Finalsatz: eine wunderbare Mischung aus Virtuosität, Pomp und Stilgefühl. Die Euphorik des 2. Themas bleibt lange im Ohr.

Das Cellokonzert Nr. 3 op. 59

Vermutlich ist das 3. Konzert für einen privaten Rahmen entstanden. Darauf deutet auch Poppers Widmung an „Sr. Excellenz dem Kaiserl. Russischen Staatsrath von Ogarew“ hin. Zudem ist die Orchesterbesetzung im Vergleich zum 2. Konzert etwas kleiner. Nichtsdestoweniger berührt der kompakte Schwung, das Essenzielle der Aussage.

Dankbare Melodien ziehen durchs Stück. Da verschmerzt man gerne, dass sich Poppers genuine musikalische Fantasie in der gebotenen Kürze nicht voll entfalten kann.

Spätwerk & Würdigung

Erst 1896 ließ sich David Popper in Budapest nieder und band sich als Professor an das von Franz Liszt gegründete Konservatorium. Rasch avancierte er zu einem der gefragtesten Pädagogen Europas. Dies hinderte ihn jedoch nicht daran, weiterhin eine rege Konzertkarriere zu verfolgen. Neben seinen Erfahrungen als Orchestermusiker und Solist trat nun verstärkt eine rege Kammermusiktätigkeit. Mit Jenö Hubay, seinem Geiger-Kollegen an der Akademie, gründete er das Hubay-Popper-Quartett – 30 Jahre lang eine der führenden Quartettformationen weltweit mit Gastmusikern wie Brahms, Dohnányi, Paderewski, Backhaus und Godowsky.

Aufgrund seiner Erkenntnisse in der Kammermusik und den zunehmend höheren Anforderungen, die zeitgenössische Solokonzerte, Sonaten und Virtuosenstücke mit sich brachten, mag in Popper der Entschluss gereift sein, neues Etüdenmaterial für sein Instrument zu entwickeln. Am Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts entstand daher die „Hohe Schule des Violoncellspiels“ in vier Heften zu je zehn Etüden – bis heute ein Standardwerk der Unterrichtsliteratur.

Die Umstände von David Poppers Tod tragen Züge des Finales eines Boulevard-Gesellschaftsdramas: In Baden bei Wien wurde 1913 im Familien- und Freundeskreis seine Ernennung zum ungarischen Hofrat gefeiert. Doch der Schwächeanfall des so Geehrten wurde von den Anwesenden statt als Vorbote eines tödlichen Herzinfarkts lediglich als Zeichen „freudiger Aufregung“ fehlinterpretiert. Offenbar hatte man dem nimmermüden Musiker und Pädagogen selbst trotz seines deutlich vorangeschrittenen Alters keine Totalerschöpfung zutrauen wollen … Entsetzlich dagegen, dass Poppers zweite Frau Olga wie viele weitere Familienmitglieder in die Mühlen des Holocausts geriet und in der Gaskammer eines Vernichtungslagers ermordet wurde.

Poppers Erbe lebt durch seine vielen Schüler, die ihrerseits wieder bedeutende Lehrer wurden, weiter. Ein Großteil seines Œuvres harrt noch der Wiederentdeckung. Sensationell, was dem Publikum in den 1880er Jahren neben den Hauptwerken von Bruckner (*1824), Brahms (*1833), Tschaikowsky (*1840) und Dvořák (*1841) sonst noch alles an Wunderbarem geboten wurde. David Popper (*1843) darf als Jüngster im Bunde durchaus in dieser Reihe genannt werden …

Richard Eckstein

Mehr von dieser CD entdecken bei:

  • Logo: iTunes
  • Logo: Amazon MP3
  • Logo: Amazon CD
  • Logo: JPC Partner